Leadership

Home / About Us / Leadership

Board of Directors/Division Directors

Bruce L. Shrake, P.E., PTOE

President / CEO / Principal

bshrake@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6215

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.039905
Professional Traffic Operations Engineer No. 1254

Education:

Master of Science - Management, Lake Forest Graduate School of Management
Bachelor of Science - Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Rhode Island

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1988


Michael T. Shrake, P.E.

Vice President / Principal / Director of Construction & Survey

mshrake@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6216

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.045144

Education:

Master of Science - Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Rhode Island
Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, University of Rhode Island

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1986


David J. Gewalt, P.E.

Treasurer / Principal

dgewalt@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6214

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.035997
WI Licensed Professional Engineer No. 16616-6

Education:

Master of Business Administration, Lake Forest Graduate School of Management
Master of Engineering - Environmental Engineering, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee
Bachelor of Science - Engineering and Applied Science, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1981


Steven D. Berecz, P.E.

Corporate Secretary / Senior Engineer

sberecz@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6217

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.051661

Education:

Master of Science - Civil Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, Washington University in St. Louis

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1993


Donald E. Matthews, P.E., CFM

Director of Site Design

dmatthews@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6220

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.048081
IL Certified Floodplain Manager

Education:

Master of Business Administration, Lake Forest Graduate School of Management
Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, Iowa State University

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1988


Todd P. Gordon, P.E

Director of Transportation Services

tgordon@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6218

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.050080

Education:

Master of Business Administration, Keller Graduate School of Management
Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, University of Wisconsin Platteville

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1999


Patrick J. Glenn, P.E., CFM

Director of Municipal Services

pglenn@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6223

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.054479
IL Certified Floodplain Manager

Education:

Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, University of Illinois at Chicago

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1996


Arthur J. Penn, P.E.

Director of Data Collection

apenn@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6221

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.060411

Education:

Bachelor of Science - Computer Engineering, University of Michigan

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

2002


Associates

Walter E. Graft, P.E.

Senior Engineer

wgraft@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6219

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.048837

Education:

Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, Bradley University (magna cum laude)

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1989


Donald E. Dixon, P.E.

Senior Engineer

ddixon@gha-engineers.com
847-821-6224

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.051136
IN Licensed Professional Engineer No. 10200061
MN Licensed Professional Engineer No. 41182

Education:

Master of Business Administration, Lake Forest Graduate School of Management
Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, Clemson University

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

2002


Daniel P. Brinkman, P.E., PTOE

Senior Engineer

dbrinkman@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6222

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.055293
Professional Traffic Operations Engineer

Education:

Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, University of Illinois at Chicago

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1996


Mei Zhu, P.E., CFM, LEED AP

Senior Engineer

mzhu@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6225

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.056576
IL Certified Floodplain Manager
LEED Accredited Professional

Education:

Master of Science - Civil Engineering, Louisiana State University
Master of Science - Civil Engineering, Xi'an Institute of of Metallurgy and Construction Engineering
Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, Tongji University

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

2000


Kevin L. Belgrave, P.E., PTOE

Senior Engineer

kbelgrave@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6226

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.051750
Professional Traffic Operations Engineer

Education:

Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

2005


Thomas A. Rychlik, P.E., LEED AP

Senior Engineer

trychlik@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6230

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.056334
IA Licensed Professional Engineer No. 17838
OH Licensed Professional Engineer No. 76717
LEED Accredited Professional

Education:

Master of Business Administration, Lake Forest Graduate School of Management
Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, Iowa State University

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1997


Daniel J. Strahan, P.E., CFM

Senior Engineer

dstrahan@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6233

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.059538
IL Certified Floodplain Manager

Education:

Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, Northwestern University

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

2002


Leo X. Morand, P.E.

Senior Engineer

lmorand@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6229

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.059505

Education:

Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, Rose Hulman Institute of Technology

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

2002


Geoffrey L. Perry, P.E.

Senior Engineer

gperry@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6231

Credentials:

IL Licensed Professional Engineer No. 062.060412

Education:

Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, Iowa State University

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

2009


Retired Leadership

Robert B. Hamilton, P.E., PTOE, EXW

Principal Emeritus

rhamilton@gha-engineers.com

847-821-6253

Credentials:

Licensed Professional Engineer in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan and Wisconsin

Education:

Master of Business Administration, Lake Forest College
Master of Science - Civil Engineering, University of Illinois
Bachelor of Science - Civil Engineering, University of Detroit

Joined Gewalt Hamilton:

1981